Bastille Day: Vive La France!

In 1789, revolutionaries stormed the Bastille screaming “Vive La France!”  If you had any association with the nobility at the time, this was cringe-worthy to hear. It still is the battle cry of French politicians. But today, Bastille Day is officially the French national holiday or Fête de la Fédération, a day that commemorates the unity of all French people.

I was reading Food52 this morning and I saw this French Herb Wreath. What a great wreath for Bastille Day. I thought this wreath is a beautiful addition to any home, French or otherwise. It’s made from dried herbs: lavender, marjoram, sage, purple oregano, thyme, and bay and it’s beautiful in appearance and scent. Or if you’re artsy-craftsy, you can save the $60 and make one yourself. Okay, I digress. This is a food blog after all.

France to me is a culinary expedition I haven’t embarked on. I’ve eaten French food but never really tried to make it myself, except maybe French Toast, but I’m not even sure if that is really a French dish. Food52 has some inspirational recipes and also recommends a French cookbook by Dorie Greenspan called Baking Chez Moi: Recipes from my Paris Home to Your Home Anywhere.

baking chez moidoris greenspan

She was a close collaborator of Julia Child and since my main interest in French food is, well, baked goods, this is a book for me. This compilation is supposed to relieve the intimidation of French patisserie. It’s worth a closer look.

It may be too late for readers across the Atlantic, if you have a burning desire to celebrate Bastille Day in the kitchen, here is a list of French dishes from where else: Bon Appetit.

On the side note: It is said that French President Francois Holland pays his hairdresser $11,000 a month. And he has very little hair to show for  it. All I can say is “Beware Bastille Day!”

Leave a Reply

