“Cow Appreciation Day”

Hello, all! I’ve been off blogging since I haven’t been feeling well the past couple of weeks. But I couldn’t let the day go by without a mention of “Cow Appreciation Day.” This is a gimmick by Chick-Fil-A to encourage people to skip burger places and go “eat chikin” instead.

BmuoL2QIgAAlBs5

[This is probably the best looking cow I’ve seen. Are those lashes for real?]

Some people think it’s inhumane to eat any live animal but I don’t want to get into an argument with anyone. For me, domesticated and game animals have their place in our diets and if our ancestors didn’t eat them, well, we’d probably be undernourished, underdeveloped human beings. I don’t need to point out that countries whose diets consists of little or poor protein is obvious in the looks of their populace.  I have seen this first-hand.

Okay, I don’t want some people to get their hackles up and throw stones at me.  I am an omnivorous individual and I don’t believe in restricting protein, especially in children below the age of two. I also don’t believe in overindulging in high fat/cholesterol foods that come from cows. So savor that burger but keep in moderation. The less beef we eat, the less cows need to be slaughtered.

So, instead of just trying to save the cows, why don’t we appreciate that they give up their lives for our sustenance? Our civilizations would not have advanced as well without their sacrifice. And with our superior brains that have been nourished by their milk, we can come up with better ways to make their lives as humane as possible.

Now who’s going to speak up for the chickens?

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Becky B says:

    Love your cow, and agree we need to speak up for chickens too! I eat very little meat but what I do eat must be happy and organic, like you I think it ok to eat them as long as we properly look after them whilst they are alive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

